Judges Panel – WE Awards ’21-’22

Illuminating – WE Awards Panel ’21-’22

In these beautiful days leading up to our grand illumination of ‘Deepavali’, it’s our immense good fortune to remain blessed, praying deeply and full of gratitude.

In the spirit of celebration and all that illuminates, we have the pleasure of announcing the panel of judges for WE Awards 2021-’22. Rock solid and a fountain of hope, our WE Awards Panel of Judges is inspiring, and we are delighted that this panel formed during the difficult year ’20, will once again read for WE Awards ’21-’22!

Heartfelt thanks to Dr. Nishat Haider, Dr. Taseer Gujral, Prof. Somrita Urni Ganguly, whose enormous contribution to the WE Awards selection process is gratefully acknowledged.

Meet the Judges – Nishat Haider, Taseer Gujral, Somrita Urni Ganguly

Dr. Nishat Haider

Dr. Nishat Haider is a Professor of English at Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi, India. She is the author of Tyranny of Silences: Contemporary Indian Women’s Poetry (2010). She has served as the Director, Institute of Women’s Studies, University of Lucknow. She is the recipient of many academic awards including the Meenakshi Mukherjee Prize (2016), C. D. Narasimhaiah Award (2010), and Isaac Sequeira Memorial Award (2011). She has presented papers at numerous academic conferences and her essays have been included in a variety of scholarly journals and books. She has conducted many conferences, seminars, workshops on gender budgeting and gender sensitization. She has worked on various projects funded by the Ministry of Women and Child Development, UNICEF, UGC and other agencies. She has lectured extensively on subjects at the intersection of cinema, culture and gender studies. Her current research interests include Postcolonial Studies, Translation, Popular Culture and Gender Studies. Nishat served as a judge for the WE Kamala Das Poetry Award ’20.

Dr. Taseer Gujral

Dr. Taseer Gujral is a poet, editor, columnist and a translator. She has worked on the feminist poems of Adrienne Rich for her doctoral thesis. Her published works appear in The Sunflower Collective, Coldnoon Diaries, Muse India, Kashmir Lit, Life and Legends, Open Road Review, E3W Literature and Sahitya Akademi anthologies among others and she has translated seminal works like Fakir Mohan Senapati’s short story ‘Rebati’ in Punjabi. Her columns on Literature and Cinema have also appeared in The DNA. She is a core member of the WE literary community, for which she has edited the Poetry Section of the anthology ‘Equiverse Space – A Sound Home in Words’ (Notion Press, 2018). Taseer has served as one of the judges for the acclaimed WE-Kamala Das Poetry Award in 2020. She has also been shortlisted as one of the Contemporary Indian English Poets in Muse India by the distinguished writer Prof. GJV Prasad. Her interests range from reading and writing poetry, translation and music. She has lived in several parts of India, and abroad, and now lives in Chandigarh, her hometown. 

Prof. Somrita Urni Ganguly

Somrita served as a judge for the 2021 PEN America Translation Prize and the WE Kamala Das Poetry Award 20. She is currently Head of the Department of English, Maharaja Manindra Chandra College, University of Calcutta. She is the editor of the first anthology of food poems, Quesadilla and Other Adventures (2019), and has translated Firesongs (2019), Shakuni: Master of the Game (2019), and The Midnight Sun: Love Lyrics and Farewell Songs (2018), among other works.

Somrita was selected by the National Centre for Writing, UK, as an emerging translator in 2016. In 2017, she was invited as translator-in-residence at Cove Park, Scotland, and as poet-in-residence at Arcs of a Circle, Mumbai, an artistes’ residency organized by the US Consulate in Bombay. Somrita has been published in Asymptote, Words Without Borders, In Other Words, and Trinity College Dublin’s Journal of Literary Translation, University of British Columbia’s Prism Magazine, among others. She has fourteen academic publications to her credit.

She is a recipient of the Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund Award (2013) and the Sarojini Dutta Memorial Prize (2011).
She was recently awarded the WE-Glowing Diamond certificate (2020), for her immense contribution to the literary journey of Women Empowered-India (WE).